Posted by: littletoe | April 15, 2007

Musings on “Luther”

I watched “Luther” last night. It brought up one of the things I had been struggling with as an Anglican (I don’t know what to call myself. I’m not a Catholic yet but I’m really not an Anglican any more.) and that is what do you do when your church has gone so wrong? Especially the leadership? Was Luther wrong to protest the equivalent of greedy tele-evangelists of his day? Was it wrong for him to want people to know about God’s grace and love? And was the price of the schism worth it? I sometimes wonder what he would think if he could see us now.

Last year, my husband and I decided we had to leave the Episcopal Church, that “fighting from within” was a battle we could never win. As we watch from a distance now, there is yet another schism forming. Each time this happens the power of our witness as Christians is diminished. How sad our Lord must be!

Having just been through something of the betrayal Luther must have felt though, my heart goes out to him. To not fight back would force you to trust God to make things right when that might not happen in your lifetime or your children’s. That would take a huge kind of faith and an absolute belief that the Church was protected by the Holy Spirit.

I guess that’s one of the things that has drawn me to Rome. I am becoming (grudgingly) convinced that the Catholic Church IS supernaturally protected by the Holy Spirit. I have 500 more years and a greater perspective of the time than Luther had. Deep in my heart I wonder what I would do though, if the Catholic Church were to betray us as the Episcopal Church has or as it did Luther 500 years ago. Would I have the courage to believe that whatever happened in the Church during my life or my children’s lives didn’t matter and that it would all work out in the end?

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Here is a quote I like about the Catholic Church that relates to your latest entry, and honestly, it is true:

    As a Catholic, my faith tells me that the Church has a divine origin, but my own experience tells me that it must be divine because no human institution run with an equal mixture of ineptitude and wickedness would have lasted a fortnight.” Hilaire Belloc

    God bless you and your family as you explore the Catholic Church. I have read your blog entries and am interested to see what happens. I am a former Anglican myself, and I think you will find a good many Catholic blogs are run by former Anglicans. Happy Easter.

  2. Hi David! I am so honored that you commented on MY blog. Yours is one of the blogs I found first when I first got the “tug” to the Catholic Church. I was praying fervently that God would keep me from error and then I went crazy on the internet trying to find answers. My blog is only two days old and was only reluctantly begun with the encouragement of the (mostly) home schooling moms on the Catholic Spitfire Grill.

    When I have time, I’ll write in more detail about how your site and others really helped speed up my journey. Since patience is not one of my virtues, I pray a special blessing on you and your ministry for helping me along the way!

  3. Little Toe,

    I am glad our materials have been helpful. I was like you when I started mulling leaving ECUSA. When I was deciding where to go after leaving the Episcopal church, I ran a lot of ideas through my head, but going Catholic was barely considered. When I read an old blog of mine, Orthodoxy gets a mention, but not Catholic. Then, around May 2004, it just kind of “hit me,” shocking even my twin brother; usually we are on the same page!

    Please stop by our site and if you have any questions please email me.


Leave a Reply

Categories