Posted by: littletoe | July 20, 2007

Now For the Witnesses

I have finally completed the answers to questions required by the Diocese of Colorado Springs to begin the annulment process. It can be likened to a deposition, only instead of oral testimony, you get to type it up, too! Thirty one pages and a page and a half summary. Anyone seeking an annulment? Hope you like to write.

For me, this was the easy part. I have no trouble answering questions as I almost always have an opinion. Now it’s time for the hard part—probably the hardest part. I hadn’t told any of my friends or family about dipping my little toe in the Tiber and now that I’m knee-deep it’s even harder. I wrote a “coming out” e-mail (Do you sense a chicken here? Guilty.) to my father, my step-mother and the three girlfriends closest to me at the time of my first marriage. They are the people qualified to be my witnesses since they new me and my ex-husband in the BEGINNING or our marriage. I announced that I am converting to Catholicism and seeking an annulment at the same time! Now they not only know I’m going to be Catholic, but a serious one. Who other than a serious Catholic would go through this unpleasant process? No guts, no glory as they say. Only one friend has responded so far and it’s been about 24 hours.

If you are inclined to prayer, I sure could use it now.

Responses

  1. Praying!

  2. BTDT. It’s HARD! I’ve prayed for you. Keep us posted.

  3. Praying. Went through this recently. My mom went ballistic (over the phone), and one of the witnesses told me I’d be converting to Islam next (she’s a fundamentalist). It wasn’t pretty, but I got through it. Had to deal with some anger issues over having to go through this whole process, dredging up what I want to remain buried. Trying to look at it as a purging. I wonder if this is what purgatory feels like at times. Anyway, praying for you.

  4. Thanks, Gretchen. I just got an e-mail back from my Dad. He’s agnostic and his response was “sure I’ll help. If it makes you feel good, go for it!” So that’s one down. Interestingly, it is my two best girlfriends (at the time) who have yet to respond. One is still in the Episcopal Church and that’s the one I’m most afraid of… She’s the one in the best position to understand how I ended up here and I’ll be very surprised if it is a move she agrees with. I really appreciate the prayers!

  5. As a cradle Anglican/Episcopalian I can sympathize- I joined the church this past Easter, the dust is just now settling! I give thanks to God that I didn’t have to deal with annulment issues

  6. God’s blessing on the journey!

  7. Converted 5 years ago in July. Best thing I’ve ever done. “Coming out” is hard though. I will pray for you at mass today. And I’ll pray for the anulment process. Welcome home.
    Amy

  8. Thanks for your prayers, Amy! I sure need them and am really looking forward to the day I am received into the Church. It seems so far off now…

  9. What an interesting blog…God bless


Leave a Reply

Categories